KOTAGIRI (Introduction) Kotagiri is the oldest and the third largest hill stations in the Nilgiris. Looming over and above all the surrounding hills in the North-eastern escarpments, its climate is claimed to be on of the best in the world.
Kotagiri literally means the lines of the house of the Kotas. Kotagiri is quietly tucked away in the Nilgiris and used to be the summer resort of the British. Till date the beauty of hill resort of Kotagiri attracts tourists and the sun scorched souls from far and wide. Unlike Ooty and Coonoor, Kotagiri is situated in an 'open-terrace' massif. At an elevation of 1985 m. the town has developed around numerous knolls and valleys. The Kotagiri weather is more bracing than that of Coonoor and balmier than that of Ooty.
KOTAGIRI (Location) The hill resort of Kotagiri is located in the famous Nilgiri Hills. Kotagiri is just 16 km away from Ooty.
KOTAGIRI (Sight Seeing)
The Hill Station of Kotagiri has several tourist attractions.
Kodanad View Point: It is 18 kms away from Kotagiri on the easternmost ridges of the Blue Mountains and hence the name meaning Terminus Country.From this point, the country lies spread out before the eye sparkling hills row after as though bathed in the mystic silver sunshine. The enchanting valley dips down to embrace the historic gajalahatti pass glancing at the green corpeted paddy fields of Thengumarahaada and watced over from its eyrie by the habitat of Hallimoyar.While the River Moyar scurries along to join her pal Bhanvani round the corner, across the valley of Talamalai ranges of the Eastern Ghats cuddle upto Mysore Plateau, westerly strides of which again adjoin the Kodanaadu stairs in the north, over the deeptrenched Mysore Ditch.
St. Catherian's Falls: It is 8 km from kotagiri on the Mettupalyam road branching off at Aravenu. This double-cascaded Falls is the second highest in the district(250 ft) and it waters from the upper stream of the kallar river crossed by the invisible Mettupalyam-Ooty road beyond the mountains in the south-west.
It is named after the wife of M.D. Cockburn, the pioneer-planter of Kotagiri. The native name of the Falls is GEddhehaada Halla meaning "Foothills Dale River".
It presents a lovely view of the sweeps of forests and woodlands, waylaid by tea gardens and yet running to meet the plains in the south-western moorings.The glittering Dolphin's Nose of Coonoor is also seen across the mighty gap in the hills-one of the three great systems of faults in the geological formation of the Blue Mountains.
Elk Falls: It is 7 km from Kotagiri and situate above Uyilathi village. The road passes through serenely laid out Badaga habitations.
'Enroute' at the Kannerimukku village is found the first European house in the Nilgiris built by collector Sullivan in the year 1819. The two-storeyed house is now in a sad-state or ruins.
Though the water is fully only in the wet months, the site is always worth a visit. It commands towards the north, a spectacular view of the Echoing Valley of Kookal and a vista of exquisite surroundings.
Long Wood Shola: About 3 km from the town, the road proceeding towards the Badaga village of "Milidhane" branes off to Longwood Shola which is Forest Reserve.
A very primeval tract of wild enclave, the Shola provides a grand opportunity for bird-withers and a perfect rendezevous for serenity - seekers.
Rangaswamy Peak and Pillar: It is 20 kms from Kotagiri via Kil-Kotagiri. The conical peak exudes an exhilarating view of the wild yet harmonious semblance of the country lying around.
Topping 1785 m above MSL, the site is crucially sacred to the Irulas. North by West to the peak is a huge detached pillar of rock rising abruptly on all sides to a height of about 400 ft and is unclimable
Further ahead from Kotagiri you may move to the other renowned hill resorts of Ooty and Coonor. There are several tea plantations and estates that wrap Kotagiri.